Belgian GP: On the second Vettel

Author of the article: , published on August 23, 2013.

Sebastian Vettel set the fastest time in the second training session in Belgium and thus took first place ahead of teammate Mark Webber. During the training, the German also experienced a punctured rear right tire, but that only put him in the pits for a fresh set. So despite Pirelli bringing the two toughest versions of tires to Belgium, this will clearly not be enough to successfully defy the sharp Belgian curbs.

Either way, both Red Bull racers anchored themselves at the top as the racers switched to medium hardness tires and third place went to Romain Grosjean. On the fourth we find Ferrari's Osmola this year's Masso, who has only two races left to prove his qualities, otherwise the Italians will start looking for his replacement.

Fifth place went to Vergne ahead of Raikkonen and Alonso, who took first place this morning. Among the top ten we also find Perez, Rosberg and di Resto. Also worth mentioning is Gied van der Gard, who was blown off the back of his car in a Stavelot-Paul Frere turn, ending up in protective tires. The Dutchman finished training in nineteenth place, but the most important thing is that he remained unharmed.

Second training times:
 1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m49.331s 22 2. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m49.390s + 0.059s 34 3. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m50.149s + 0.818s 34 4. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m50.164s + 0.833s 27 5. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m50.253s + 0.922s 28 6. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 1m50.318s + 0.987s 33 7. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m50.510s + 1.179s 21 8. Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes 1m50.536s + 1.205s 27 9. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m50.601s + 1.270s 33 10. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m50.611s + 1.280s 27 11. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m50.629s + 1.298s 30 12. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m50.751s + 1.420s 27 13. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari 1m50.972s + 1.641s 33 14. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1m50.991s + 1.660s 28 15. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m51.195s + 1.864s 28 16. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m51.447s + 2.116s 26 17. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault 1m51.568s + 2.237s 28 18. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1m51.644s + 2.313s 26 19. Giedo van der Gar de Caterham-Renault 1m53.157s + 3.826s 21 20. Charles Pic Caterham-Renault 1m53.251s + 3.920s 29 21. Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth 1m53.482s + 4.151s 28 22. Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth 1m54.418s + 5.087s 12

If you want, you can support us with a donation via PayPal. Simply scan the QR code below! Thank you!